The Discovery of A Passion

The first time that I discovered the plight of the wild horses and burros of the U.S., I had been following a Facebook page about the mustangs of Sand Wash Basin, Co. On this page I saw my first article from the American Wild Horse Preservation Campaign which was actually a petition to Congress to stop the sterilization and slaughter of wild horses in America. This was the fall of 2015 and I have been trying my hardest to stay with the topic of discussion for the wild horses and do my part, signing and sharing around the articles and petitions, however it wasn’t long after when I found out about the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) scandal with a livestock hauler named Tom Davis, who supposedly bought almost 1,800 mustangs from the BLM and sold each of them to be slaughtered in Mexico. This is when I began my research into the BLM and with each rock I have turned over, I have felt more and more powerless to change the system. Eventually, wanting to know more about this particular scandal, I discovered the public version of the Department of Interior’s investigation from 2015 into the BLM and the Wild Horse Buyer.

This was very satisfying to find, so I printed the whole thing off and began reading, doing a little research here and there so that I could understand what I was reading. It didn’t take long for the feelings of satisfaction to wane into nothing but frustration and confusion. The entire document is 10 (ten) pages long, and from this document, I compiled a list of questions, currently 5 (five) pages long containing 69 questions that seem to be rather basic. Just this document has opened up a whole scary world filled with what one might call corruption, greed, liars, blissful ignorance, etc. Here I hope to show you (my readers) why this matters so much.

Thank you and have a blessed day!

P.S.: Here is the link to that lovely document created by the DOI for the public:

Here

 

Leave a Reply

