Facilities 1

Alright ya’ll! I know it’s been awhile, but this took way longer than I had intended for it to take. Nonetheless, I found a few of the facilities that I promised I would track down for you. In fact, I found eleven (11) facilities that I believe that the BLM uses for short-term holding. Here is the link to the pages of each facility. Do not trust that these are all of the horses that each facility has. I was literally just working on inventory from the Broken Arrow, Fallon, Nevada facility and I was on the 71st animal when suddenly my laptop freaked out and when I pulled it back up there were only four (4) animals shown. Very weird, I agree. Well I’m going to try to not be really super suspicious about it and just try again tomorrow. But regardless, that doesn’t mean that didn’t come across some weird stuff while I was researching.

A.) Florence, Arizona

So usually the case has been that who ever makes these records doesn’t know their colors. But something that I found that was consistent through all of the facilities that I found, that 90% of the horses available for adoption are mares! I mean yeah there are a few geldings, but most of the horses are mares. In this particular facility, of the eleven (11) horses, there were eight (8).

B.)Riverton Honor Farm

So there were only three (3) horses available there, though they are very good options, as one is saddle trained and the other two are halter trained at the very least. Two mares and one gelding. Here is the problem that I have with this right now. The ages are way past wrong! They are recorded to have been captured on 11/03/10, 06/05/11, and 10/10/11 in that respective order, however, they are also recorded to be 4 years, 3 years, and 3 years old respectively… Which is clearly impossible.

C. Palomino Valley, Nevada

47 horses. 47 mares! It doesn’t take long to find a discrepancy though, as with the colors. It’s not that hard ya’ll. Here is a perfect example. Clearly this horse is grey, however this is not the only horse with incorrect records. I don’t like to have my research at the mercy of the BLM, because there are so many questions that pop up, and there is so much incorrect data and such, that one cannot help but wonder if any of this is real. I mean it has happened to domestic horse owners/buyers that they go to buy a horse and are presented with the perfect animal for their needs only to receive an animal that is completely different from the one that they viewed and paid for. Granted, adopting a mustang is no small undertaking and isn’t for the faint of heart or mind, it is hard to tell what you are getting… I’ll get in to that later though. (No tangents A.)

D.)Rock Springs Corral, Wyoming

Seven (7) horses. Seven (7) mares. For some reason, I doubt very seriously that this facility can only handle seven (7) horses at one time. Call me skeptical, but whatever.

E.) Las Vegas, Nevada

One. One horse. And here she is. And there is something that I really cannot overlook because that would make me a poor observer. In the last picture of her, it honestly, in my opinion looks like the side of a double-wide in a trailer park. These facilities honestly don’t have better storage for their junk? And not to mention how filthy her feed and water buckets are, inside and outside, absolutely nasty. Come on guys, I thought the government could do better. And I won’t mention the scabbing on her hip, as I would hate to speculate what happened there…

F.) Burns, Oregon

Four (4) horses. Three (3) mares, and one gelding. Two of these horses have signalment keys, and two of them do not. The two that don’t are both supposedly from Palomino Buttes HMA in Oregon. I don’t know exactly yet what a Signalment Key is, but I have intentions of finding out what it is and how it is used with the horses.

G.) Paul’s Valley, Oklahoma

Now, I’m not really sure what this is… so if someone wanted to help me out on understanding that, I would really appreciate the help. Thanks muchly.

H.) Wyoming Honor Farm

One horse. A gelding that appears to be fully trained. His notes say that he was born in a holding facility, though it doesn’t specify which one. Here he is, just in case you are interested.

I.) Canon City, Colorado

27 horses. 27 mares. So I’m sure that you are noticing the trend. Almost no males, and almost completely females. Now, every horse person out there knows that most people prefer geldings for their easy temperament and predictability. Such is not so with mares, as while every horse is different, it is universally known that mares aren’t exactly people-pleasers with a winning personality, which could explain this very sharp ratio of male to female in these facilities. Regarding this facility, I thought it nice of them to include a picture of the facility supposedly. I find it hard to believe that the person who puts these records together can get an accurate eye of the actual color of these horses, because many of them, at least in their pictures are absolutely filthy. How can you tell the difference from a grey or red roan if they are covered in dust and mud? Over half of the horses are still wearing their winter coats, which you may know can skew coloring a little bit, and then, I have noticed, that some of the horses appear to be wet… I know that rain may not be outlandish, but in all of the pictures, it appears to be a bright, sunny, beautiful day. Also, this, I think, is a pretty intelligent question. How can an owner be expected to see a freezemark on a grey horse? I mean the freezemark is white, so…?

J.) Delta, Utah

Seven (7) horses. Three (3) geldings, four (4) mares. Still that difference. Still though, I quite appreciated this facility because they show you a picture of the horse in a chute marked to measure height, which I really liked, because it shows consistency. So I’m wondering why this isn’t standard procedure, and maybe it is and no one is following it… typical, but it should be standard procedure to show the Public that consistency is important in the BLM. Shock of all shocks haha.

K.) Redlands, California

Seven (7) horses. Seven (7) geldings. They also were sweet enough to show us a picture of their beloved facility. Like I was saying about horses looking soaking wet, this guy is a perfect example, I mean I don’t know if he is sweaty, or just got sprayed with a water hose. Some of these horses aren’t even a year old yet, but I do like that they do include in the notes whether that horse was born in the facility or not. One even says that he was born in facility, and who he was out of, which we obviously have no idea because she isn’t shown.

L.) Litchfield, California

Seven (7) horses. Seven (7) mares. Can someone please tell me the difference between sorrel and chestnut? I mean I have been operating under the assumption that they are the same thing…. oops haha. Beautiful mares though, all good sizes, all would make wonderful pets, even if they are just keeping your yard in good shape haha.

M.) Ridgecrest, California

First, I would like to say, I spent 10 pages of my yellow legal pad for this facility… it took me forever. 109 horses. 42 geldings. 67 mares. I had a lot of trouble with this facility for many reasons… And here is my biggest problem. here and here This is the same horse! Recorded twice, this gelding threw me for a loop because I had written down the first record and I want to do the second one and I glanced over the numbers and I was like “This horse is that horse…” And I went back and checked, surely enough all of the numbers match. That is a big screw up that could lead to a large amount of trouble. BLM… ya’ll may want to fix that… just a thought. Here is my next problem. There are horses shown that were captured in 2009. They have been there for about 7 years. I know how badly I had cabin fever this winter because it snowed quite a bit around here, can you imagine looking at walls for 7 years? Because I cannot. These horses should be sale eligible, should they not? Next problem. Horses that were captured outside of a herd area or herd management area (HA/ HMA)… like this dude. I didn’t think that the BLM had jurisdiction to gather outside of these specified areas… Hmm, makes you wonder don’t it. And he wasn’t the only one. There are four (4) others that were supposedly captured outside of an HMA/HA. This deeply bothers me. Pregnant mares. We know it happens. We know that pregnant mares are rounded up on a regular basis. So why is it not ever mentioned in the notes? If you ask me, this mare is pregnant. She was also captured outside of an HMA/HA… Hmm, interesting. Okay, I’m going to stop with this facility, we can get into it on another day.

N.) Broken Arrow, Fallon, Nevada

I am under the impression that this facility is displaying at least 90 horses. However, I only got to 70. Yes, I’m still perplexed about that. Seven (7) geldings. 63 Mares. Still a lot of horses. Not much to tell since I didn’t get to finish… argh.

Okay, so I know that that was a lot to take in, but I suggest that ya’ll explore that site with all of it’s little pages and see if you turn up anything interesting. Let me know! Have a lovely day and I’ll see ya next time!

Leave a Reply

