National Wild Horse & Burro Advisory Board Meeting Part II (of many)

For reference today, here is the document that I will be using again, starting at page 41.

Right away, I’ll just start with where I finished on my previous reading, which ended on the note that the Nevada BLM aims to adopt out only 110 wild mustangs this year. This is my biggest concern in this very second because, it is just so low. For a state who houses the largest population of wild horses and burros, the Nevada BLM really needs to shoot higher and bigger! In my post Adopting, I actually mention a few changes that could be made to the current process that could really increase adoptions and give adopters an easier, more fun experience.

My second largest concern is that there seems to be, to me at least, that herd areas (HA’s) aren’t intended to have horses on them. If this is the case, should an area with horses on it not remain a herd management area (HMA)? I mean, I know that I use common sense, but to me, if it is an HA or an HMA, then it is supposed to have horses or burros on it, so don’t sound so melodramatic Nevada.

Another big question mark that I have over my head is that, Alan Shepard, the Nevada State Lead, is stating that the state of Nevada is recovering from a 4-year drought. Now, I don’t claim to know a whole lot about the weather in Nevada, as it is going to be different in every district. That said that the weather is different in each district, this means that resource availability, meaning that the needs for horses/burros in each district are different from one another. You cannot stereotype an entire state based on one area.

Then, it seems like in less than one sentence, we swap from water availability to blaming the budget for not being able to maintain the tiny AML in the state, which happens to be 12,811. I’m not entirely sure how we made this transition, but okay… Mr. Shepard essentially admits how broken up this Wild Horse and Burro program is when he says that they are just trying to “bandage” this program up and manage the horses. At least someone is admitting it. Then again… he falls off of the train by saying that he thinks that they are doing a good job maintaining the wild horses and burros… NOT ! Here is what I just cannot understand… why are private property owners so concerned? I mean as a horse lover, I would give anything to have wild horses and burros romping about in my yard! And I can tell you this, if Nevada would make land bridges over or under highways or interstates, horses/burros would absolutely use it as an alternative to having to cross the asphalt. And farmers. For the record, if you don’t want horses getting into your hay, all you have to do is put up a fence. It’s not a big challenge. The West is made up of fences, so what is one more?

I’m going to throw this out there once more, if the BLM would kick the cows out of the equation, the rangeland would be in much much better shape than what it is right now. There are too many cows on our Public lands right now and they are destroying our lands that house and care for the wild horses and burros. The speaker then goes on to say that if the state of Nevada didn’t have resource issues, then they wouldn’t have horses/burros “stacked” on top of each other… Not that I’m entirely sure what that has to do with anything at this very moment. He goes on to say that he is, for whatever reason, concerned with the means by which these horses get a drink of water and how long it takes them to get a drink… sir, have you ever watched the wild ponies drink? They cannot drink the sea water! They have to dig into the ground on the island with their hooves and drink what they dig up of groundwater. That is how nature provides. And going back to my first post where I mentioned sage-grouse, the Nevada BLM is like a huge lover of sage grouse. So I see a conflict of interest occurring when you’re trying to defend the case of gathers in sage-grouse territory… but whatever.

This only gets us to page 49 but I am going to stop here because I know that this is getting long. Thank you for reading this post, I love y’all and I hope to see you back to read my next post! Be sure to share with your friends on facebook and twitter! Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

